This division was formerly known as the “Juniors” and as recent as 2013 were given the new designation of “Colts”. In 1991 the Stingrays were one the first clubs to enter a team into the newly formed junior division; this team was called the Seahawks. In 1995 the junior division was dissolved due to operational circumstances caused by a split in the league. As a result there was no junior competition for the next three years. In 1999 the junior competition was re-established and our junior team adopted the Stingrays name from this point on. In this rebuilding year we found it necessary to combine with the Beenleigh Wildcats to enable us to enter the competition due to low player numbers in both clubs. From the year 2000 we have stood alone and in 2007 & 2008 our numbers were so strong we entered 2 Colts/Junior teams in the competition.

In the last 18 years since launch of the current Colts competition the Stingrays have won 7 Minor Premierships in 2000, 2001, 2006-2008, 2014, and 2016 and have appeared in 10 “Colts Sunbowl Championship” games, winning 9 of them in 2000, 2001, 2005-2008, 2015, 2016 & 2017. In 2017 we once again had 2 Stingrays Colts teams in the competition.

The 2018 season will bring with it huge changes to the Colts format as the age division will be 17 to 19 years. This is a direct result of the formation of a new 14 to 16 year old Juniors division.